New Jersey Rebuilt Title: Process in 2023
Learn how to transform your salvage title into a rebuilt title in New Jersey by undergoing a salvage state inspection. This guide covers the steps you need to take, including applying for a salvage title, repairing your vehicle, applying for a salvage state inspection, receiving your rebuilt title, and getting insurance.
If you're looking to transform your salvage title into a rebuilt title in New Jersey, you'll have to undergo a salvage state inspection. It's a common misconception among those new to the salvage game that a salvage state inspection can be conducted at a local mechanic shop, but that's not the case. A verified NJMVC Salvage Site must conduct the inspection. The good news is that the process in New Jersey is relatively straightforward and quick. So, with a little bit of patience and the right guidance, you'll be able to navigate the salvage state inspection process and turn your salvage title into a rebuilt title in no time.
What is a rebuilt title?
Have you ever heard of a rebuilt title and wondered what it means? A rebuilt title is a designation given to a car that has been declared a total loss by an insurance company but has since been repaired and deemed safe to drive again. However, before a vehicle can be issued a rebuilt title, it must first have a salvage title, which means that the car was deemed a total loss by an insurance company. Once repairs have been made, the vehicle can undergo a salvage inspection and be rebranded as a rebuilt title.
Here are the steps needed to get a rebuilt title in New Jersey
- Apply for the salvage title in your name
- Repair your vehicle
- Apply for salvage state inspection
- Receive your rebuilt title in the mail
Applying for the salvage title in your name.
If you don’t already have a salvage title for the vehicle, you’ll need to apply for one. You can apply for a salvage title at any NJMVC Vehicle Center, but you must schedule an appointment in advance. You’ll need the following on hand:
- New Jersey title assigned to an insurance company with the company’s New Jersey sales tax-satisfied stamp.
- $60 title fee and $25 penalty fee, if applicable. The penalty is applied if the request is received 10 days after the date of sale shown on the back of the New Jersey title (excludes weekends and holidays). Click here for a list of legal holidays.
- Insurance listing sheet (BA-28) and a statement from the insurance company or a bill of sale from a dealer as to how the vehicle was acquired. The insurance listing sheet must also include
- Actual Cash Value
- Type of Loss
- Damage Estimate
- Year, Make, and VIN number.
- A completed Salvage Title Application (OS/SS-61)
- Proof of lien satisfaction (if applicable)
Repair your vehicle
Once you have obtained a salvage title, it is important to make the necessary repairs before scheduling your salvage inspection. Before starting the repairs, it is recommended to take clear colored photos of each side of the vehicle. For more information on salvage vehicle inspection and the process of restoring a salvage title, it is highly recommended to download the MVC's comprehensive guide, Salvage Vehicle Information (OS/SS-4). This guide includes detailed instructions on taking before and after photographs, as well as other helpful tips.
Applying for salvage state inspection
Before applying for the inspection, you must complete all repairs on your vehicle. You will not pass the salvage state inspection if your vehicle is not fully repaired. After completing the repairs on your vehicle, submit the following items to one of the Motor Vehicle Agency locations closest to you shown below, or mail them to the address on the information document:
- Your Completed Salvage Inspection Application (OS/SS-3)
- A check or money order made payable to the NJ MVC for the $200 salvage vehicle inspection fee
NJ MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION
Motor Vehicle Agency
Salvage Title services available by mail or walk-in
Hours of Operation:
Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Saturday 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM
109 State Highway 36
Eatontown, NJ 07724
(732) 935-5958 Fax
181 B Route 202/31
Ringoes, NJ 08822
(908) 788-8177 Fax
712 East Bay Avenue
Manahawkin, NJ 08050
(609) 597-8519 Fax
8901 Park Plaza
90th & Bergenline Avenue
North Bergen, NJ 07047
(201) 662-1281 Fax
835 E. Clements Bridge Rd
Runnemede, NJ 08078
*856) 939-4597 Fax
199 East Broadway, 1st Floor
Salem, NJ 08079
(856) 935-4138 Fax
10 Roosevelt Place
Somerville, NJ 08876
(908) 704-3337 Fax
Port Colden Mall
404 State Route 57 East
Washington, NJ 07882
MAIL ONLY *no walk-in customers*
NJ Motor Vehicle Commission
PO Box 017
225 E State Street
Trenton, NJ 08666-0017
(609) 292-6500 Ext 5063 Phone
After submitting the required items to the service location, call to schedule your salvage inspection appointment at an approved inspection site listed on the information form (OS/SS-4). To ensure a smooth inspection process, don't forget to fax copies of the necessary items on the OS/SS-4 form to your inspection site once you've scheduled your appointment. On the day of your inspection, remember to bring the following items:
- Your New Jersey salvage title
- Your completed Salvage Inspection Application form
- A bill of sale for all the parts that you used to fix your vehicle
- Colored photos of the vehicle before and after repairs (An Insurance damage report will do if you don’t have the before pictures)
- Invoices/Work orders with VIN # for the parts and repair details
- Insurance damage report (Not Required to pass salvage inspection for New Jersey)
Receive your rebuilt title in the mail
Generally, receiving your rebuilt title in New Jersey takes approximately a week or two, but can take up to a month to receive. However, if you're rebranding an older salvage title into a New Jersey standard title through the mail, the process will take a minimum of three weeks.
Still, need help? Contact the Special Title Unit
If you have questions regarding the salvage state inspection process, please call the MVC’s Special Title Unit at 609-292-6500 ext. 5063.
Getting insurance for a rebuilt title is a simple and important step to protect your investment. Most major insurance companies accept rebuilt titles, and while some may view them as higher-risk vehicles, it's important to note that every insurer has different policies and options available. By working with a reputable insurance provider and taking the necessary steps to obtain insurance, you can feel confident and secure while driving your rebuilt title vehicle.
obtaining a rebuilt title in New Jersey is a straightforward process that requires patience, the right guidance, and following a few simple steps. To begin, you need to apply for a salvage title in your name and make all necessary repairs to your vehicle. After that, you can apply for a salvage state inspection at a verified NJMVC Salvage Site, where you'll need to provide a completed Salvage Inspection Application and a $200 salvage vehicle inspection fee. Once your vehicle passes the inspection, you'll receive your rebuilt title in the mail, and you can then get insurance for your rebuilt vehicle. Remember that before you start the process, it's important to download the MVC's comprehensive guide, Salvage Vehicle Information (OS/SS-4), for more detailed instructions and helpful tips.